× Menu

Opera Queensland

Book Now Email Updates

PROJECT TOSCA

Your chance to perform with Opera Queensland and Queensland Symphony Orchestra

Regional Tour - Cairns, Townsville, Mackay, Rockhampton, Gladstone, Toowoomba, Gold Coast

Project Tosca is a large, ambitious project in which Opera Queensland will work with seven communities across the state to find and train local performers for their 2020 tour of Puccini’s Tosca. Aspiring performers will have the opportunity to audition for a coveted position in the Community Chorus to perform alongside Opera Queensland’s principal artists.

Tosca is an opera by Giacomo Puccini, which premiered 120 years ago in Rome. The story follows the powerful Tosca, a famous opera singer who is devoted to the painter Cavaradossi, but Scarpia, the tyrannical Chief of Police, has his own plans for her. What ensues is a gripping tale of lust, betrayal and cold-blooded murder. The production is set in 1970s Italy and takes a step back into a world of iconic style and lush glamour at a time of dramatic political and social change.

During Project Tosca around 400 successful applicants will participate in a program of free professional training in singing, stagecraft and Italian language skills before taking to the stage in their local theatres alongside Queensland’s best singers and with the support of an ensemble of musicians from the Queensland Symphony Orchestra.

Auditions will take place throughout the year to find 40 adult and 16 children’s chorus members from each community. Local Chorus Masters in each region will manage rehearsals prior to the August 2020 tour.

Registrations are now open to audition for Opera Queensland’s Community Choruses

Register to audition for the Adults Chorus | Register to audition for the Children’s Chorus | Frequently Asked QuestionsMore information

AUDITION DATES

POSTPONED – Monday 30 & Tuesday 31 March    Cairns Performing Arts Centre
POSTPONED – Wednesday 1 & Thursday 2 April    Pilbeam Theatre, Rockhampton
Monday 20 & Tuesday 21 April    Townsville Civic Theatre
Wednesday 22 & Thursday 23 April    Mackay Entertainment & Convention Centre
Monday 27 & Tuesday 28 April    Empire Theatre, Toowoomba
Wednesday 29 & Thursday 30 April    HOTA, Gold Coast
Wednesday 6 & Thursday 7 May    Gladstone Entertainment Convention Centre



PERFORMANCE DATES

Saturday 8 August    Cairns Performing Arts Centre
Wednesday 12 August    Townsville Civic Theatre
Saturday 15 August    Mackay Entertainment & Convention Centre
Wednesday 19 August    Pilbeam Theatre, Rockhampton
Saturday 22 August    Gladstone Entertainment Convention Centre
Wednesday 26 August    Empire Theatre, Toowoomba
Friday 28 and Saturday 29 August    HOTA, Gold Coast

Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this